My First Dress-Almost Done!

Whew, what a weekend! It was filled with lots of sewing, exactly how I like it. I got a lot done on my b6453 dress. I’m SO close to being finished! After I’m done posting this I’ll be going back to my sewing and completing the last steps. I can’t wait to wear this dress! ā¤

Last time I had just finished cutting all the pattern pieces out. Now it’s time to assemble them!

I’m getting the hang of these princess seams. I think :p

IMG_20170508_113649

I didn’t do so well on the pattern matching….that’s definitely something I’ll have to work on.

I got pretty close on the one in the middle though!

I made wider straps and I’m not going to make them adjustable. Here is how I attached them to the bodice:
IMG_20170508_114524

I tried on the bodice and pinned the straps where I thought they looked best. The unfinished edges of the bodice will be flipped back when I put the facings on, so everything will line up.

I came across an add on Facebook for this gingham dress from Collectif(not an affiliate!) and just loved the little ruffles around the neckline. I wanted to try doing that on my dress, but I was a little scared. I mean, this was going off by myself. There are no instructions in the pattern for this! But boy am I glad I did. It turned out lovely! Of course, I still have to put the facings on and I am worried about the added bulk of the gathers….but I have hope that it’ll work out.

I found this purple bias tape in my stash, I believe it’s from a big bag of bias tape I had found at the thrift store. I know it’s older because look at the price, forty cents! Also the plastic wrapping on it practically disintegrated when I opened it.

IMG_20170508_115039

I measured out four times the length of my neckline. I didn’t end up needing that much but I didn’t want to not have enough. That would’ve been annoying. Then I stitched along the top to make it look neater and so that the folded edge wouldn’t come unfolded. After that I did a basting stitch along the other side and started gathering.

IMG_20170508_115205

I pinned it along the neckline, right under the staystitching. I should note here that I’m doing a smaller seam allowance along the neckline, armholes, and back so that they come up higher. The facing will cover the ugly bits of the ruffle and flip it right side up. At least that’s what I’m thinking will happen. Fingers crossed it all works!

IMG_20170508_113337

IMG_20170508_120304

Now it’s time for the skirt! The skirt isn’t that difficult. It’s pretty much just sewing the skirt pieces together and gathering….lots of gathering! Oh, I didn’t do the pockets. I don’t really use pockets on dresses because I don’t want anything weighing the skirt down. I want it to twirl!

IMG_20170508_115302

Just keep gathering…

The next step was to attach the skirt to the bodice, yay! It looks like a real dress now ā¤ I didn’t do anything special here, just followed the pattern directions.

Ready to see it??? I mean, it’s not all the way done but it looks pretty close to how it will look when it’s done. It’s also a little wrinkly. When I’m done with it I’ll have to take some proper pictures.

img_20170508_120228.jpg

 

It’s so cute! I can’t wait to get it finished. And most of all I can’t wait to wear it! I’m already planning what accessories and shoes to wear. Of course I’m going to wear a big frilly petticoat underneath!

I’ve got to go now, the dress is calling me ā¤

Have you ever veered from a patterns instructions? How did it work out for you?

 

 

2 thoughts on “My First Dress-Almost Done!

Leave a Reply

