Making My First Dress-Gertie’s B6453 Sew Along

Hey guys.

A few months back I joined a facebook group called Gertie’s B6453 Sew Along, and I’m so glad I did! It’s so helpful for a beginner like me to be able to reach out to more experienced seamstress’ for help. Also I love seeing all the different ways everyone has made this dress their own.

This is my very first dress. Except for a few doll dresses but I’m not sure those count, they’re kinda different. So far I have gathered my supplies and made my first muslin. My next step will be to make some fitting adjustments, mainly an FBA(full bust adjustment). This is my first FBA as well. Also my first pattern and first time sewing princess seams. This dress has alot of firsts for me! But hey, you have to start somewhere.

I chose this hot air balloon fabric because I’ve always had a fascination with them(I want to learn to fly one someday!). I’m planning on wearing the dress to a hot air balloon festival that I’ve wanted to go to for a long time​.
Looking at the fabric now, I wonder if the pattern is going to be difficult to match up? A solid would have been easier to work with I think but, oh well. Now I’ll learn how to work with patterned fabric too.

Here is the muslin of the bodice:

As you can see, I’m going to need an FBA because of the tightness in the chest area. I’m also going to bring up the armhole and make the straps thicker to cover my bra. I think I’ll shorten the waist a bit.

I’m excited to get working on it and a little nervous too. But I think I can get through it, especially with the help of the sew along group. I’ll be sharing my progress with you and hope to be a help to anyone else attempting this pattern. Or just some entertainment!

Tell me, what was the first dress you ever made? Did it turn out as planned? What did you learn from the experience?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Making My First Dress-Gertie’s B6453 Sew Along

Leave a Reply

